Rosemary

I grew up on the outskirts of London, on the edge of Epping Forest, enjoying the best of all worlds has become quite a theme for me.

My education revealed a great interest in science and a love of the Arts. In addition, I have a passion for the betterment of humanity. I studied Social Work at Middlesex University in London. I was a Social Worker in the UK for 20 years, mainly working with the families of people with disabilities. Until my husband and I and our two children, came Canada in 2000. After we landed, we lived in Toronto for two years before relocating to Vancouver. A Canadian now, and proud of it, I still retain my British citizenship. 

Whilst on a career break from Social Work to raise our family I studied Reflexology with the International Institute, this later led me to study energy healing with the Four Winds, founded by Alberto Villodo. I have recently given talks on healthy eating and Shamanic story writing; now you may think these are pretty divergent topics, but there is, a unifying theme. The theme of: being in right relationship physically and emotionally. We can do this, by becoming aware of what our body needs, and what is sustainable to the planet for us to eat; and thereby set up some of the conditions for good physical health. Through Shamanic story writing we can realize that we have a choice in the perspective that we adopt when we describe our life and the things that happen. This realization, can lead us to be in right relationship with others and ourselves and set up some of the conditions for good emotional health.

I was interested in co-housing for a few years before I found West Wind Harbour. I like living on my own, but realized that I needed to be connected to community for my health and wellbeing. The things that sold me on West Wind Harbour were location and people. Our land is situated on the coast, in the midst of nature and yet only 45 minutes from the city of Victoria. Sooke itself is a friendly town with many amenities. The people at West Wind Harbour are interesting and lively minded. There are different personalities and I see that we are enriching each other’s lives already as we learn about each other and the business of building a community together.

I have two grown up children who live in Vancouver. I love them both dearly and see them regularly.

Mo is my dog he is a Japanese Chin. He is my first dog, I had always had cats and his breed has been described as a “cat-like dog”.

I took a course in Graphic Design in 2001 and I am pretty computer savvy particularly on a MAC. My hobbies include painting, kayaking, dressmaking and poetry and playing the cello; I self-published a book of poems in 2009. I also enjoy walking and hanging out on beaches; (the opportunity to do this in and around Sooke is huge!)